{BLONDi Recipe} Gluten Free, Grain Free Cookies and Muffins

20140115-031812.jpg

I recently decided to detox my body and experiment with a new diet free of gluten and grain. I’m now on day 5 and I have to say that I feel amazing. I’ve lost weight, my energy level is much better and I no longer feel exhausted or bloated after meals. One of the things I missed was muffins and looking around the market I quickly realized that everything has way to much sugar and wheat, rice or potato flour. All of which I can no longer have so I set out to discover delicious recipes for my cravings.

The first one I loved was for these super healthy almond butter flourless cookies. I tried several recipes but thus far I enjoyed this one the best because the cookies were lighter and fluffy. I substituted the sugar for agave and it turned our great. Next time I’m adding chocolate chips. ;0)

20140115-031124.jpg

20140115-031852.jpg
Also during my 2 hour work break, I decided to try my hand at muffins so I would have something health to satisfy my urge for bread in the mornings or for those late night snacks. (I’m actually eating one as I write this.. LoL) This recipe for gluten free muffins worked out perfectly. Of the choices in the recipe, I used unsweetened organic apple sauce (making them so fluffy, moist and soft), I used agave to sweeten, organic apple cider vinegar, coconut oil ( keep everything at room temperature or the oil will harden from the cold wet mix, blend by hand really well until creamy) I also added nutmeg, cinnamon, dark (semi-sweet ) chocolate chips and dried currants in the center of the muffins for a surprise.

20140115-032556.jpg

Tomorrow I’m onto blueberry muffins. I’ll check back to let you know how it goes.
If you try out the recipes, let me know what you thought of them. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

