Detox with Apple Cider Vinegar

Reposted with permission from http://www.dazzlediaries.com

Apple Cider Vinegar DetoxAfter WEEKS of eating crap and throwing myself off kilter from Holiday binge eating, my body has been craving normalcy! So, I decided to go back to an old staple in order to detox my system and kick start myself back to healthy eating habits. Lets all raise a glass (or a Tablespoon) to Organic Apple Cider Vinegar. ACV is one of those old world, cure-all, miracle, super foods that can be used for just about ANYTHING. Its is chocked full of vitamins and minerals and can be used both internally and externally to help fight chronic illness like diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol to helping fight acne, exzema, and dandruff. There are loads and loads of benefiits! I first discovered ACV when I was battling with a horrible case of Acid Reflux Disease. I refused to be on perpetual medication, so I started looking for natural ways. And this did it! Completely cured, never to pop another Zantac again! I did a video a while back where I talk about just how awesome ACV is. You can watch that video here

But this post is about how you can use Organic ACV to detox from the Holidays – or any time of year for that matter. First, you want to make sure that you are buying UNPASTEURIZED, UNFILTERED, ORGANIC APPLE CIDER VINEGAR. I buy mine from vitacost, but you can usually find the Braggs brand at your local health food store like Wholefoods, Trader Joes, The Fresh Market, etc. Certain chain supermakerts like Publix carries it as well. All of the good stuff, the enzymes and vitamins, are located in the “mother” or the cloudy pulp that you see. This is why its important to make sure you get the unfiltered, raw, kind. The enzymes in the mother will kill off unwanted bacteria in the body, balance your body’s pH and aid in digestion and help to cleanse your colon. And the vitamins will give your immune system a nice boost – which is good this time of year when the cold and flu seem to be running rampant. Those are not the only benefits. You will start to see external benefits as well like less acne/breakouts, clearer skin, shinier hair etc. And there have been studies showing that incorporating an ACV regimen long term can help with weight loss. Great! So, now that we are all curious….here are a few ways to incorporate ACV in your detox plans:

1. Straight Up – this is my favorite way. I basically drink 1/2 a cup of water and then take a shot of 2 Tablespoons of ACV and then drink another 1/2 cup of water. I do this in the morning, every morning, before I take in any other food or drink. It works well for me because I actually like the taste of vinegar. (some say its harsh on the teeth this way, but, honestly if i just take a shot it doesn’t even touch my teeth. It goes to the back of my throat and then downwards…

2. Diluted with Water – for those of you who do not like the taste of ACV, add the 2 Tablespoons to a glass of water and guzzle away. This helps cut the sourness of the vinegar to make it more palpable.

3. Add to Water Bottle – you can do this and sip on the water bottle all day. Some say this method actually works best because you are sipping it before, after, and during meals.

4. Other ways – If you just cant seem to stomach drinking ACV, get creative! Try adding ACV to salad, smoothies, etc. This allows you to still reap the benefits.

With my ACV, I feel lik my body is back on track and finally starting to come down from the loads of sugars and grains I so unwisely took in last month. Let me know if you decide to try this! Happy New Year and Good Luck!

Leave a comment

